The page you are trying to view is located in the full version of the website. Would you like to view full version?



Members of the Foresight Council


Priit Rohumaa


Priit Rohumaa has graduated from Tallinn University of Technology with Master’s degree in energetics and he has MBA from the Estonian Business School. Rohumaa has been a Member of the Board and Chairman of the Board at Viru Keemia Grupp AS. Currently he is the Chairman of the Council of the Estonian Railways Ltd and Member of the Supervisory Council of AS Tallinna Vesi.



Jaak Aaviksoo

Jaak Aaviksoo graduated cum laude from the University of Tartu in the field of theoretical physics in 1976. From 1976 to 1992 he was first junior, then senior and then leading scientist at the Physics Institute of the Estonian Academy of Sciences; there he defended his Ph.D. in physics and mathematics in 1982.
From 1981 to 1994 Aaviksoo worked as a guest professor at the Novosibirsk Institute of Thermal Physics, the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research (Germany), Osaka University (Japan) and University of Paris (France).From 1992 until now Jaak Aaviksoo has held the position of professor of optics and spectroscopy at the University of Tartu, from 1992 to 1995 he was Vice-Rector of the University of Tartu, from 1996 to 1998 Head of the Institute of Experimental Physics and Technology and from 1998 to 2007 Rector of the University of Tartu.Academician Jaak Aaviksoo has held the office of Minister of Education and Research of the Republic of Estonia twice and Minister of Defence of the Republic of Estonia once and has been a member of three compositions of the Estonian Parliament. 



Mait Palts      

Mait Palts became the Director General of the Estonian Chamber of Commerce and Industry in 2012. He has been working in the Chamber of Commerce and Industry since 2002, both as the Lawyer and the Head of Department, advising hundreds of entrepreneurs on legal issues. The Estonian Chamber of Commerce and Industry is the oldest and largest Estonian representative organization of entrepreneurs. It has nearly 3200 members from all fields of life, from one-man companies to international corporate groups. Working as the head of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry has given Mait Palts years of experience in communicating with entrepreneurs, and he has an extensive grasp of the problems that cause the greatest concern to our business people. Mait Palts has participated in the preparation and analysing of many bills and strategy documents. He has published comments on legislation and been one of the authors of several legal handbooks.
Mait Palts is the Chairman of the Board of the Estonian Centre for Standardisation, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Estonian Qualifications Authority, Member of the Board of the Estonian Intellectual Property and Technology Transfer Center and Head of the Foundation for Promotion of National Defence.


Photo by: Reti Kokk

Tarmo Soomere

Tarmo Soomere has graduated from Moscow State University as a mathematician. He has two Doctor’s degrees, and he has spent nearly 15 years in various foreign countries studying and as a marine researcher. Professor of Coastal Engineering at Tallinn University of Technology, Leading Research Scientist at the Department of Cybernetics of Tallinn University of Technology. President of the Estonian Academy of Sciences (2014). His research work focuses on analysis of the interaction of waves and coasts of the Baltic Sea in the climate change context. He has won the National Science Prize two times. Person of the Year Award of newspaper Postimees in 2005 for explaining the extent and dangers of January storm. Order of the White Star, 3rd Class in 2014 for taking the Estonian research work to the global level.

Jaan Pillesaar   




Last updated: 16.06.2020