Skip navigation


Extraordinary elections were held in the Anti-Corruption Select Committee, with Artur Talvik elected as Chairman and Anneli Ott as Deputy Chairman.

The extraordinary elections had been called in connection with the incumbent Chairman Andrus Herkel leaving the Committee and Artur Talvik joining it.

The new Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Committee were elected after a repeat poll because the initially elected Chairman Anneli Ott resigned promptly after learning the election results. A repeat poll was held immediately, and Artur Talvik was elected Chairman. It is a parliamentary custom that the Anti-Corruption Select Committee is chaired by a representative of the opposition.

The Anti-Corruption Select Committee has six members. The other members of the Committee are Mart Helme, Ants Laaneots, Jaanus Marrandi, and Mart Nutt.

The Anti-Corruption Select Committee of the Riigikogu supervises the implementation of anti-corruption measures provided in the law. The Select Committee discusses and assesses the potential incidents of corruption involving officials specified in the Act, exercises supervision over compliance with the restrictions on activities of the members of the Riigikogu, and verifies the declarations of interests. The Select Committee submits an overview of its activities to the Riigikogu once a year.


Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
+372 631 6456; 58 213309
Questions: press@riigikogu.ee