The page you are trying to view is located in the full version of the website. Would you like to view full version?



Riigikogu Press Release
14 June 2019

The European Union Affairs Committee elected Riina Sikkut its new Deputy Chair

At its today’s sitting, the European Union Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) elected Riina Sikkut as its new Deputy Chair. The new Deputy Chairperson was elected because Sven Mikser took up his seat in the European Parliament. Anneli Ott will continue as the Chair of the European Union Affairs Committee.

Other members of the European Union Affairs Committee are Kalle Grünthal, Heiki Hepner, Kalev Kallo, Tarmo Kruusimäe, Oudekki Loone, Lauri Läänemets, Tõnis Mölder, Kalle Palling, Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Anti Poolamets, Taavi Rõivas, Aivar Sõerd, Urve Tiidus and Jaak Valge. The Committee has altogether 16 members.

The European Union Affairs Committee is a standing committee of the Riigikogu that has a deciding and coordinating role in the issues relating to the European Union. The Committee gives the mandate to the positions of the Government of the Republic on proposed European Union legislation, and to Estonia’s positions for the meetings of the Council of Ministers of the European Union and the European Council. The positions of the European Union Affairs Committee are mandatory for the Government, and the Government proceeds from them in the discussions held in Europe.

Photos of the sitting (will be uploaded with a delay)

Riigikogu Press Service
Kristi Sobak
Phone +372 631 6592, +372 5190 6975