The page you are trying to view is located in the full version of the website. Would you like to view full version?



Members of the Riigikogu formed Estonia-Spain Parliamentary Group with Imre Sooäär as Chairman and Oudekki Loone as Deputy Chairman.

Sooäär says that the Spanish parliament has undergone its most dramatic change in history since the last parliamentary elections. It is shifting, to all intents and purposes, from a two-party system to a multi-party governance. “The process has not gone smoothly. If the negotiations are not concluded by May, the Spanish king Felipe VI will declare extraordinary parliamentary elections in June. The issue of Catalonian independence is also gaining increasing attention,” Imre Sooäär said.

The Estonia-Spain Parliamentary Group counts as members Imre Sooäär (Chairman), Oudekki Loone (Deputy Chairman), Jüri Jaanson, Peeter Ernits, Siret Kotka, Andres Anvelt, Heljo Pikhof, Toomas Kivimägi, Erki Savisaar, Vilja Toomast, Maire Aunaste, Maris Lauri, Mailis Reps, Mihkel Raud, Andre Sepp, Tarmo Tamm and Johannes Kert.

Imre Sooäär is also the head of the Riigikogu delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean.

Parliamentary groups help the MPs communicate with other national parliaments, carry out Estonia’s foreign policy, and promote our country around the world.

Altogether, the 13th Riigikogu has formed 47 parliamentary groups and 60 associations.

List of parliamentary groups

List of associations

Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
Phone: +372 631 6456; 58 213309