The page you are trying to view is located in the full version of the website. Would you like to view full version?



Members of the Riigikogu (Parliament of Estonia) formed the LEADER Programme Support Group. Anneli Ott was elected the Chairperson of the group and Tanel Talve Deputy Chairperson.

In the opinion of the Chairperson of the Support Group Anneli Ott, it is important involve local population in achieving the viability and development of the rural regions of Estonia “The experience of Europe and Estonia shows that it can be successfully done by following the principles of the LEADER programme,” Anneli Ott said. “Rural regions must have the possibility to say what hinders the development of their region and what is necessary for the development of their region.”

Deputy Chairman Tanel Talve noted that the LEADER programme has had and continues to have a very great role in the development of our rural life. “Therefore I think it is important to have the attention and support of the parliament, and the LEADER Programme Support Group should have greater cooperation with other organisations promoting rural life,” Tanel Talve said.

Members of the LEADER Programme Support group are: Anneli Ott (Chairperson), Tanel Talve (Deputy Chairperson), Kristjan Kõljalg, Arno Sild, Raivo Põldaru, Peeter Ernits, Külliki Kübarsepp, Kersti Sarapuu, Siret Kotka, Martin Repinski, Tarmo Tamm, Helmen Kütt, Jaanus Marrandi, Ivari Padar, Andres Metsoja and Aivar Kokk.

LEADER programme is a European Union initiative programme. The purpose of the programme is to promote life in rural regions through local level cooperation by helping to create rural life development strategies based on local partnerships and to implement them later.

Through support groups and associations, the members and factions of the Riigikogu can draw attention to specific issues, and support or protect the interests of narrower spheres of life.

At the moment, the 13th Riigikogu has 53 parliamentary groups and 65 associations.

List of parliamentary groups

List of associations

Riigikogu Press Service
Marie Kukk
+372 631 6456; +372 58 213 309