The page you are trying to view is located in the full version of the website. Would you like to view full version?



Today the meetings of the Presidential Committee and the Bureau of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) are held at the Riigikogu, the Parliament of Estonia. The meetings open Estonia’s Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. Tomorrow, the Standing Committee of the PACE will meet at the Riigikogu. This will be the opening session of the Chairmanship of Estonia.

At the meeting of the Bureau of the PACE, it is planned to approve the reports on the early parliamentary elections in Kazakhstan and Serbia and to hold discussions on preventing human rights violations and promoting city-to-city cooperation. Head of the Estonian delegation to the PACE Marianne Mikko will participate in the meeting.

Today’s meetings are a preparation for the meeting of the PACE Standing Committee, which will take place tomorrow and will be opened by President of the PACE Pedro Agramunt and President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor.

After that, it is planned to hold an exchange of views with Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia Marina Kaljurand, who will become the Chairperson of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe for the next six months. The discussions will focus on Estonia’s priorities during its Chairmanship of the Committee, and also other issues in the framework of the Assembly’s ongoing political dialogue with the Committee of Ministers.

Estonia has decided that the rights of children, gender equality and human rights and the rule of law on the Internet are the priorities of its Chairmanship of the Council of Europe.

Members of the standing Committee will also hold an exchange of views with President of the Group of States against corruption (GRECO) Marin Mrčela and Chairman of the Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures and the Financing of Terrorism (MONEYVAL) Daniel Thelesklaf.

The Standing Committee is made up of the President and Vice-Presidents of the PACE, the chairpersons of political groups, the chairpersons of national delegations and the committee chairpersons, totalling some 60 parliamentarians. The Standing Committee acts on the Assembly’s behalf between plenary sessions. Leadership of the PACE will participate in the meetings of the Presidential Committee and the Bureau.

The press is welcome to observe the meeting of the PACE Standing Committee in the Session Hall of the Riigikogu on Friday, 27 May from 9.30 a.m. to around 12.30 p.m.

More information on the web page of the Riigikogu

Riigikogu Press Service
Kati Varblane
Phone: +372 631 6353, +372 51 69 152