The page you are trying to view is located in the full version of the website. Would you like to view full version?



Prime Minister Andrus Ansip replied to the interpellation concerning buying of Elering Ltd (No 329), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Karel Rüütli, Villu Reiljan, Ester Tuiksoo, Mai Treial, Tarmo Mänd and Jaanus Marrandi on 13 October.
Ansip explained that, according to the new European Union Directive on internal market in electricity, Member States have to ensure the independence of transmission operators from the activities relating to the generation or sale of electricity. In Estonian context, for implementation of the principles of the Directive, Elering Ltd has to be transferred from the ownership of PLC Eesti Energia to direct ownership of the state. The share capital of the transmission operator Elering Ltd consists of a single share which at present belongs to PLC Eesti Energia. To resolve this task, the Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications formed a committee who reached a conclusion that sale of the share of Elering Ltd was the most preferred. That was considered legally the simplest, fastest and least problematic way to transfer the share of Elering Ltd to the state. “At the same time, the sale of the share of Elering Ltd under market conditions is the least problematic in terms of loan agreements and bonds of PLC Eesti Energia, that is, conditions,” noted the Prime Minister. He added that, as was known, the Riigikogu had made the final decision on the sale on 12 November when the amendments to the Participation in Legal Persons in Private Law by the State Act had been passed.
The Prime Minister also replied to the interpellation concerning independence of criminal proceedings in the Republic of Estonia (No 330), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Evelyn Sepp, Kalev Kallo, Arvo Sarapuu, Valeri Korb, Tiit Kuusmik, Jaak Aab, Inara Luigas, Georg Pelisaar and Lauri Laasi on 13 October, and the interpellation concerning financing of an election campaign (No 336), submitted by Members of the Riigikogu Toivo Tootsen, Nelli Privalova, Enn Eesmaa, Tiit Kuusmik, Lembit Kaljuvee, Ain Seppik, Kalev Kallo, Arvo Sarapuu, Olga Sõtnik, Eldar Efendijev, Lauri Laasi, Georg Pelisaar, Valeri Korb and Heimar Lenk on 28 October.
The Riigikogu Press Service